What happened on july eighth nineteen forty seven?

July 8, 1947 (Tuesday) was the date of the Roswell UFO incident. An unidentified flying object crashed near Roswell, New Mexico. Although it was officially reported to be a spacecraft by the U.S. military (specifically, a Saucer) , it was later reported to be a conventional weather balloon.