Why are chimpanzees the smartest animal?

Chimpanzees are among human's closest living relatives, sharing almost 99 percent of our DNA with them. They are skilled at using different types of tools to carry out complex tasks. These abilities make the chimpanzee the most intelligent non-human animal on Earth.