Who is the mother in a christmas story?

Melinda Dillon Mother (Melinda Dillon) Besides her more memorable roles in A Christmas Story and Close Encounters, the 78-year-old actress has also appeared in Absence of Malice (for which she was nominated a second time for an Oscar), Harry and the Hendersons.