What's a double broiler?

A double boiler is made of 2 saucepans, that fit 1 inside the other. The bottom one is a normal saucepan and the top one, has holes in the bottom and sits on top. You can cook potatoes in the bottom and steam vegetables in the top one, using a lid as well, for example.