Are shingles hereditary?

No, shingles are a possible long-term consequence of having been infected with the chicken pox virus.

---

The inheritance pattern of shingles is unclear. Having a first-degree relative (such as a parent or sibling) who developed shingles appears to slightly increase the risk of developing the condition.