What's the difference between a jigsaw puzzle and a regular puzzle?

A jigsaw puzzle is a type of puzzle cut into certain patterns and when all the pieces are put together, they make an image. A puzzle can be anything challenging to complete, like a crossword puzzle, a rubik's cube, riddles, etc.