How far can a german shepherd smell?

German Shepherds have a keen sense of smell, about 100,000 times better than humans. They can detect scents over a mile away on land, up to 40 feet underground and in 80 feet of water. For this reason they are often used in bomb and drug detection and search and rescue work.