What is a billy ape?

The Bili apes or Bondo mystery apes are large chimpanzees that inhabit Bili Forest in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. "The apes nest on the ground like gorillas, but they have a diet and features characteristic of chimpanzees", according to a National Geographic report