What is the blob at the paris zoo?

It’s a bright yellow unicellular mold known officially as physarum polycephalum, or the "many-headed slime." It has no mouth, stomach, eyes, brain or nervous system, but it can detect and digest food. The zoo said the organism first appeared a billion years ago.