Who is joyce carol oates?

Joyce Carol Oates is an American writer who has written 58 novels, numerous plays and novellas, and many volumes of short stories, poetry, and non-fiction. She has taught at four universities including Princeton and the University of California at Berkeley. Joyce Carol Oates was born June 16, 1938.