Can you have more than one queen in a chess game?

When a pawn reaches the other end of the board, it can be promoted to any other piece of its own color except for a king, most commonly a queen.

---

There are 2 queens in a game of chess. One for each side. Usually one black one white but special board may use different colors and materials, for example a crystal set may have one side with frosted crystal and the other is clear.