How long did mccarthyism last?

The controversial practices and policies of U.S. Senator Joseph McCarthy from Wisconsin, and has its origins in the period in the United States known as the Second Red Scare, lasted from the late 1940s through the 1950s. The hearing on June 9, 1954 had the most famous line "Have you no decency?"