Is kosher salt and sea salt the same thing?

There is no difference between kosher salt and rough “sea salt”.

---

Yes, for cooking purpose, kosher salt and sea salt are the same. Kosher salt earned its name from it's original purpose to kosher meat. It has nothing to do with kosher dietary guidelines. Sea salt is directly evaporated from seawater.