How long is maternity leave in the u. s.?

Oftentimes, maternity leave is about 12 weeks long — that is, if you're eligible for it (and many people in the U.S. aren't). Through the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), the federal government guarantees 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave for the birth of a newborn or adopting a child.