Where does the king go on a chess board?

Make sure to set up the chess board with “white on the right,” i.e., with a white (or light) square in the corner at each player’s right. Put the Queens “on their own color.” The White Queen goes on the light square next to the King, and the Black Queen goes on the dark square next to the Black King