What's the christmas apple?

The Christkindel Apple, also known as Christmas Apples, Santa Klaus or Saint Nicolas' apple, is a traditional variety from the Alsace region. The peel is a dark red color, almost black, known as “Christkindel de Gambsheim” or “Gambsheimer” or simply “Gambsler”.