How many scales does a lizard have?

It will depend on the size and type of the lizard. There are over 5000 lizard species, including iguanas, chameleons, geckos, Gila monsters, monitors, and skinks. The skin of lizards is covered in overlapping scales made of keratin. The largest lizard is the Komodo Dragon can grow to about 10 ft.