How do you cut a garlic?

Pull a single clove from the garlic bulb. Lay a knife blade flat on top of the clove. Using the palm of your hand, push down on the blade with enough strength to crack the skin. Peel the skin from the clove. Cut off the root ends. Use a gentle rocking motion to slice the cloves into several slices.