How do you get permanent marker out of a shirt?

Sponge rubbing alcohol into the area around the stain, and then apply it directly to the stain. Continue sponging the stain with alcohol, transferring as much ink as possible to the paper towels, and replacing the towels as needed. Rinse thoroughly and launder.