When do babies learn how to talk?

Babies begin learning from the very first words they hear. They normally understand language at 6 months. They will babble and coo as they practice to communicate. On the average, their first deliberate words usually occur between 9 and 14 months. By age 2, they may use a simple sentence.

---

After 9 months, babies can understand a few basic words like "no" and "bye-bye." They also may begin to use a wider range of consonant sounds and tones of voice. Baby talk at 12-18 months.