What does a distemper shot do for a dog?

Distemper vaccines prevent a dog from getting distemper, a viral disease that affects a wide variety of animals. In dogs, distemper affects several body systems, with common symptoms including high fever, eye inflammation and eye & nose discharge, and hardening of nose and footpads.