Who were the axis in world war one?

The "Axis powers" formally took the name after the Tripartite Pact was signed by Germany, Italy, and Japan on the 27th of September, 1940, in Berlin. The pact was subsequently joined by Hungary, Romania, Slovakia, and Bulgaria.