Why does the earth get cold?

Seasonal changes in the Earth's temperature are mainly due to the elliptical nature of the Earth's orbit around the Sun. The Earth is slightly closer to the Sun in summer, and slightly farther away from the Sun in winter. Geologic changes in the Earth's atmosphere, as from volcanoes, can also do it.