What's a japanese geisha?

Geisha are Japanese women who entertain through ancient traditions of art, dance and singing. They are characterized by their wearing of kimono and oshiroi makeup. Geisha are not prostitutes. This belief arose in the West because the traditional attire of oiran (courtesans) is similar to geisha.