What is the song war what is it good for?

"War" is a counterculture era soul song written by Norman Whitfield and Barrett Strong for the Motown label in 1969. Whitfield first produced the song – an obvious anti–Vietnam War statement – with The Temptations. Whitfield re-recorded the song with Edwin Starr as the vocalist for a single.