How do you know if an avocado is gone bad?

When an avocado goes bad, it becomes very soft and squishy while still in its skin. An unripe avocado is firm and unyielding in its skin, while a ripe avocado is slightly soft in its skin. When looking at an avocado out of its skin, those that have gone bad are a brown color instead of light green.