Which direction should a ceiling fan spin?

During the summer you want the fan to blow air straight down, so your ceiling fan needs to run in a counter clockwise direction as you look up at it. Reverse the direction for the winter.

---

A ceiling fan should rotate counterclockwise in the summer so that the blades push cooler air down in a column.