How big was the earthquake in san francisco in nineteen eighty nine?

The San Francisco earthquake in 1989, also know as the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake, measured 6.9 on the Richter magnitude scale. It was responsible for 3,757 injuries and 63 deaths; and caused more than five billion dollars in damages.