Who played the wookie in star wars?

Peter William Mayhew was an English-American actor best known for portraying Chewbacca in the Star Wars film series. He played Chewbacca in all of his live-action appearances from the 1977 original to 2015's The Force Awakens. Mayhew died April 30, 2019 at the age of 74.