When did the black plague start in europe?

The Black Plague, also known as the Black Death, was an epidemic of bubonic plague that struck Europe and Asia in the mid-1300s. The plague arrived in Europe in October 1347, when 12 ships from the Black Sea docked in Messina, Sicily, with a crew of dying and dead sailors.