How did siri get her name?

Siri was named by her creator Dag Kittlaus who later sold the technology to Apple. Kittlaius revealed he planned to name his daughter Siri after a former coworker (in Norwegian, Siri means "beautiful woman who leads you to victory") and even registered the domain Siri.com.