What's the red thing on a turkey?

Under the beak is the wattle. The long, red, fleshy area that grows from the forehead over the bill is a "snood". It fills up with blood and turn bright red when a tom wants to attract a hen but they can also turn blue if the turkey is scared.

---

The red, rubbery part on a turkey's beak is called a wattle. Male turkeys use these for courtship purposes. When they want to attract a female turkey their wattles will turn red to woo the female.