What was the first item in minecraft?

The first item in Minecraft would either be Cobblestone or Grass. When Minecraft was first created, it was called Cave Game. In it, you could only place and break the 2 blocks in the game. Cobblestone or Grass blocks. From that humble beginning, Minecraft has evolved to what we see today.