What is the flower dahlia?

Dahlia is a genus of tuberous plants that are members of the Asteraceae family;related species include the sunflower,daisy,chrysanthemum & zinnia.As well as coming in a rainbow of colors,dahlia flowers can range in size from petite 2-inch lollipop-style pompoms to giant 15-inch “dinner plate” blooms