What's the difference between chili powder and dark chili powder?

They are still from the same chili pepper. the dark one is roasted for a longer time and gives it a smokier, sweeter taste and contains more of the pepper. The lighter version has less roasting time and may contain more spice mixture such as garlic powder or cumin making it appear lighter in color.