How many grams of sugar should a child have in one day?

According to the American Heart Association, children between the ages of 2 and 18 should consume no more than 25 grams of sugar a day.

---

The AHA released three new guidelines: Children between two and 18 should eat fewer than six teaspoons of added sugar per day. That's about 25 grams of sugar or 100 calories. Children and teens should limit their intake of sugar-sweetened drinks to no more than eight ounces weekly.