What major events happened in nineteen forty seven?

Roswell UFO incident, Truman Doctrine and the Marshall Plan were enacted, India and Pakistan gained independence, the International Monetary Fund was started. Chuck Yeager broke the sound barrier. Howard Hughes flew the The Spruce Goose. Ferrari began production of sports cars.

---

April 15 Jackie Robinson is first African American in Major League Baseball. July 7 A UFO crashed near Roswell, New Mexico. July 26 CIA was created. September 26 US Air Force established as a separate branch of the military. October 14 Chuck Yeager, was first person to break the sound barrier.