What is the noun sleet?

Sleet as a noun refers to drop of rain which have frozen before reaching the ground. Sleet is also known as ice pellets or graupel, and is typically seen in the winter. Hail is larger than sleet - it typically forms in summer thunderstorms and freezes in layers from inside out due to updrafts.