Why did they call pound cake pound cake?

Pound cake originated in the 18th century. The recipe called for a pound of eggs, a pound of flour, a pound of sugar, and a pound of butter. But that isn't why. England uses the metric system. The pound was the amount of money one would have to pay to get one.