Where does the term cocktail come from?

A cocked (or raised-up) tail on a horse is a sign of vim and vigor, so horse traders in the 18th century would put ginger or pepper under the tail, to make them look more frisky. Ginger and pepper were also common ingredients used to liven up alcoholic drinks, thus the term “cock-tail”