Where does the term cocktail come from?

A cocked (or raised-up) tail on a horse is a sign of vim and vigor, so horse traders in the 18th century would put ginger or pepper under the tail, to make them look more frisky. Ginger and pepper were also common ingredients used to liven up alcoholic drinks, thus the term “cock-tail”

---

The word "cocktail" has a long history, starting in the 18th century, where spices such as ginger or cayenne would raise the tail of animals to make them appear spirited or healthy. As ginger was added to drinks, it was a cocktail, eventually assuming the name for the entire beverage.