How long do you grill chicken on the barbecue?

Preheat your gas grill to 400°F. Once preheated, lower the temperature to 350°F. Place chicken on the grates and close the lid. Grill on one side for about 7 minutes or until the chicken naturally releases from the grill. Flip and repeat. Turn off burners directly beneath meat leave for 10 minutes.