What is the smurfs about?

The Smurfs were created by Belgian comic artist Peyo in 1958. Called “Les Schtroumpfs” in his native French, they first appeared as side characters in the fantasy comic “The Flute with Six Holes” where they are shown living in a barren, rock-covered place known as the Cursed Land