Is sea salt and kosher salt the same thing?

No, though there is kosher sea salt. Kosher salt has larger crystals, making it useful for koshering meats, and also making it easier to measure with the fingers. Sea salt is made by drying sea water, as opposed to mining. Dried sea water with large crystals is kosher sea salt.