What is a one china policy?

One China policy, is the diplomatic acknowledgement of China's position that there is only one Chinese government. Under the policy, the US recognizes and has formal ties with China, rather than the island of Taiwan, which China sees as a breakaway province to be reunified with the mainland one day.