What's in a dumpling?

A dumpling is a small savory ball of dough wrapped around a filling. The dough can be bread, flour or potatoes, and may be filled with meat, fish, cheese, vegetables, fruits or sweets. Dumplings may be prepared by baking, boiling, frying, simmering or steaming and are found in many world cuisines.