What's the difference between a skillet and a frying pan?

Although there are some who confuse a skillet with a sauté pan, which has straight sides, a skillet and a frying pan are the same thing. A skillet, also known as a frying pan, is a flat-bottomed pan, usually with flared and slightly curved sides.