What does real mean?

Real, spelled R-E-A-L, means that something actually exists, as opposed to being imaginary, or that it's genuine, as opposed to artificial. Spelled R-E-E-L, it refers to a cylinder on which cable, thread, or some similar thing is wound.

---

As a noun "real" is the basic unit of money in Brazil which is equal to 100 centavos. As an adjective "real" means having a verified existence such as "real people" or "real life." As an adverb "real" is used as an intensifier as in "real good" or "real quiet."