What is the record for the home run derby?

The Home Run Derby that year was hosted at Coors Field, known for its thin air and booming home runs. In order to reach 74 total home runs, Alonso hit 35 in the first round, 16 in the second round, and 23 in the final round that secured him the Home Run Derby title.