How high does the average plane fly?

The commercial jets travel at around 35,000 feet or 10,600 meters.

---

The average commercial passenger jet aircraft cruises at an altitude between 30,000 and 42,000 feet (9,000 – 13,000 meters) or approximately 5 – 7 miles up in the air. The reason for this is a jet engine operates more efficiently at higher altitude where the air is much thinner.