When were color movies invented?

The first hand-colored films were introduced in 1895, followed by film tinting technique in the early 1910s and in 1917 was first used the Handschiegl Color Process. First commercially widely used "true" colour films were Kodachrome and Agfacolor introduced in 1935 and 1936 respectively.

---

The first color cinematography was by additive color systems such as the one patented by Edward Raymond Turner in 1899 and tested in 1902.[1] A simplified additive system was successfully commercialised in 1909 as Kinemacolor.